Es Octobre

Hola mis amigas y amigos! Este mes es Octobre. Yes, my Spanish sucks. I really need to brush up on it if I’m ever going to survive the Run of the Bulls. Today is the first day of October, and I am super pumped. I mean it is the best month of the year. Obviously because I was born in it  Anyways here are my favorite things about the month of October and my goals I hope to achieve.

1. My Birthday (I’ll be the ripe age of 22, scary)! I mean come on, I wouldn’t be my narcissistic self if I didn’t love October (okay, I am not self obsessed, but I do love birthdays – I get really into them, I’m quite scary around birthday time). I always try to have at least one epic birthday memory each year. Some are let’s just say not my better moments, but according to my friends my inebriated self is so fun (HEY! Are ya’ll saying I’m not fun when I’m sober…). I’m so fun, that my friends love to film me on my birthdays. Quote from one of the movies: I’m laying on the floor motionless with my tiara on, my roommate: “and she still wants to play Andre 40 hands”..

Birthday Tiara always makes it better. Maybe I really do love myself? 20th birthday.

2. Incorporating pumpkin into anything that I can. Hmm well maybe not pumpkin water, that might be really disgusting. I’m down for pumpkin breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Not only do I like canned pumpkin, but those pumpkin candies (you know, those ones that taste so good, you eat an entire bag until you realize you just were a fatty…hmmm..guess that is only me). They are my kryptonite. I have to only eat a few otherwise I’ll become the next Nicki Minaj (not that its bad because I do love her, I just don’t want the butt to go along with it). Even more pumpkin comes into October with carving or decorating. Am I just really weird or does anyone else paint pumpkins? Apparently carving a pumpkin is all the rage, I guess I never got that memo.

Gluten Free Banana and Pumpkin Spice Pancakes:
1/3 c. Gluten Free All Purpose Flour
1 tsp Baking Powder
2 Tbsp Gluten Free Oats
1/3 c. Coconut Milk (from carton, not thai style)
1/8 tsp salt
3/4 tsp Vanilla extract
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1/3 c. canned pumpkin
1/2 sliced banana
1 packet of truvia
sprinkle of chocolate chips

1. Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl.
2. Cook over low-medium heat. Makes about 5 small pancakes or 2 really large ones.

3. Halloween costumes. I really wanted to go as Nicki Minaj, but I think I need about two extra butts in order to pull it off. Oh wait…I just remembered, I’m also white. People might not be able to tell who I was dressing up as. I think I’m going to be really lame this year and just shell out some money for a costume. I’m thinking of getting one of those reversible costumes that way I have two outfits for the price of one. Yes, the Jew in me will never go away. Always looking for deals.

4. Fall food in general. The combinations of fall flavors are endless. Apples and cinnamon. Caramel and apples. I think I may need to start going to AA (appleholics annonymous). The cooler weather (cooler being 91, yes finally no more extreme sweating, just normal sweating now) allows me to make warmer food, like my Turkey Chili (well, it’s my moms recipe, but I snagged it and now label it as a family recipe):

Chili in Texas. Things are finally normal again.

Turkey Chili (Gluten Free):
1 lb lean ground turkey
1 whole onion (I use sweet)
1 can rotel
2 cans of pinto beans (I use ranch style beans, black can, get em)
1 package of Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing (powder, you never know there might be someone dumb and think liquid)
1 package of taco seasoning
1-2 c. of water

1. Cook ground turkey and half of onion in a pan until cooked thoroughly.
2. Transfer to a pot. Add in all other ingredients (if you want a more soupy chili use 2 c. of water, but if you want a thick chili use 1 to 1 1/2).
3. Heat over low heat for about 30 minutes or until hot.
4. Makes about 8 (1 cup) servings, but sometimes a little more

5. Can I say my birthday again? Just kidding. Sort of. For my birthday, my dear bubbe is giving me sewing lessons. Oh god no. She is not teaching me, that would probably be pure hell, mainly for her. Instead, she is going to pay for me to take a class on sundays for three weeks for beginning sewing. I am stoked. Project Runway here I come. I’ll just squeeze that little life adventure in between getting my license as a dietician and potentially going to physician assistants school. I totally have time for it all. Not, but I really want to be able to sew my own clothes. I like to think that I’m creative or at least my mom tries to let me think that by hanging up all my artwork around the house. Positive reinforcement. Probably the only thing I remember from psych 101.

Other great things about October are that I just finished my hell week, so now I have free time to do whatever I want like bake. Lies. I technically won’t be free until Oct 4th when my evil green tea research paper is due, but I can pretend. Or at least I pretend I have ADD and do things like clean up my house and bake CCK’s Pumpkin Cream Cheese Bars, although I haven’t frosted them yet (probably my ego telling me that I need to actually do my work – damn you psych 101).

My Goals for October are:
1. Ace all my exams that are scheduled for the week before Halloween. Not to be cocky or anything, but I’m a boss – or at least Kelis says so.
2. Survive my research paper with a minimum of a B+, but hopefully an A.
3. Attempt to workout every day – see I’m already being lazy by saying attempt. No Lindsay, you must GO to the gym. Remember: Man candy, man candy, man candy.
4. Pimp my apartment. Sort of like pimp my ride, but without all the expensive gadgets and gizmos, so pretty much nothing like the show at all. Maybe Xzibit will come over to make it a little authentic. A girl can hope.
5. Plan out my meals every week – hopefully this will happen and I won’t end up eating sludge from the fridge one night.
6. Be able to run at least 2 miles – this is hilarious, I know. Ya’ll are thinking this girl is so pathetic she can barely run 1 mile. Yeah I wasn’t a runner, I was a volleyball player. All I had to do was be tall and stuff people in the face – I suggest highly everyone needs to do this once, great stress relief.

Hope ya’ll have an amazing Saturday! I’ll be sitting at my desk slaving over studies about green tea. Really professor? I’m only an undergrad and I have to write 10 pages single spaced about Green Tea, not even I, the master of BS, can make up ten pages about freaking green tea.

If this post is not up to my epic level, I blame it on the g-g-green tea. I’m gonna have to call up Jamie Foxx and maybe we can make a remix to Blame it and focus it all about green tea. I bet that song will make it rain in my life.

What is your favorite thing about October?
What are you going to dress up as for Halloween?

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “Es Octobre

  1. Alexandra

    Wicked goals man! I know you’ll demolish them all ;) girl you had me cracking up about nicki minaj, I can totally see you decked out in a costume of her haha
    I too am gonna eat my weight in pumpkins this month, I absolutely cannot wait to become an oompa loompa…hey I guess that’s what I could be for Halloween! Score :D
    Happy October bud!

    • Yes for having like another stomach for pumpkin! If you were an oompa loompa that would be pretty hilarious. Actually my older brother’s ex gf looked like an oompa loompa and whenever we would see her we would sing the little song. Kind of mean, but she was a crazy person.

  2. idk I thought this post was pretty epic! :-D you’d be suprised how many white girls i’ve seen dress up as Nicki…mayyybe you can get a friend to dress up with you and that way you’d have the two butts!!!

    Agreed on the pumpkin. I’m so glad other people are as obsessed as I am! DEFINITELY one of my favorite things about October. Especially carving. sorry, I’m a carver….I mean, I gotta get the seeds out so I can bake themmm and I gotta use the insides to make pumpkin soup! might as well carve a witch in there while I’m at it :-P

    I like those goals! I’m sure you’ll demolish all of them, just like that paper :)

    • Oh I totally am not against carving, I have just never carved a pumpkin in my life. My mom always made us paint our pumpkins because they would last longer that way. I really want to carve one this year.

  3. kaliesthoughts

    TO get help with my ed and have a home to live ;)

  4. Those pancakes look so good!! :D

  5. I LOVE the leaves changing colours in October :) It is so beautiful here in London and the colours seem to stay for such a long time!

    I don’t think I will dress up for Halloween?? :( I just don’t really like it all that much, haha.

  6. I always dress up for halloween but last year i didnt – maybe im getting OLD!?

    i will always rock a tiara on my birthday. its a rule.

  7. Birthdays and Pumpkin are the best! Definitely two things to be excited for this month. You should make yourself a big ol’ pumpkin cake. Good luck with your two mile goal! I think you’ll be able to do it, especially with the man candy gym motivation.

  8. I hear ya on the running thing… I’m working to get past 2 now… ballerina+running=bad news! Also.. love the tiara. I have one just like it. it lights up :)

  9. Rachel

    these are great goals!

  10. haha- dude- I can pull BS outta nowhere like nobody! :P
    These are some awesome goals! I seriously think you should go as Nicki Minaj and I’ll go as Katy Perry. How awesome would that be??

    Have a great Sunday!

  11. You can TOTALLY pull off Nicki Minaj! My white blonde friend was Nicki Minaj for Halloween last year…and she actually wore a diaper under her silk bathrobe to get the bootayyyy effect ;) I was Kim Kardashian last year and I wore a Booty Pop (those padded underwears they have on tv) and it actually did make me look like I had a lil junk in the trunk ;)

  12. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    Your pancake looks so good. I’m drooling right now just looking at them. Good luck on all of your goals! :)

  13. Your goals are absolutely great… yes for acing any tests that come our way, that is a goal of mine too! One thing I would suggest though is to not make a goal of “go workout everyday” but propose going at least 4 or 5 days to start. No one should go everyday, and when you make a goal like that, it’s a lot easier to give up on, because it can seem overwhelming! Just my two cents :)

  14. Hahaha don’t you just love when professors make you write ridiculous paper? It’s not like he REALLY wants to read like 40 (Or how ever many ppl is in your class) 10 page paper on green tea! I mean how many variety can ppl give him anyway?

    I am soooo excited about Halloween! I am hoping I can be “plants vs zombie” with my friend. If you don’t play that pc/ iphone game, you should, cuz it’s epic!!

  15. WOW those pancakes look AHHHHMAZING!!! Im gonna have to try those out and let you know how they turn out. Good luck with those goals!! :D

  16. Bahaha I love how 91 is normal sweating for you! That is like crazy hot though to be honest, it has been almost that warm here lately and it’s so weird. Maybe global warming is true ;)

    I am also lovin on the pumpkin! Actually seasonal flavors in general–I bought apple pie flavored gum and some soy eggnog. I can’t believe they already have it in stores, but I’m not complaining :P

  17. Your pancakes look great and I like your goals!!

  18. I need those pancakes right MEOW!

  19. Errign

    Love your goals! Congrats on trying to increase your running mileage – you’ll be able to do it :)

  20. Oh, I love those pancakes! And so little ingredients it seems I have everything on hand :) me happy now! Thanks girl for leaving a comment on my bloggie :)

    xoxo Mel

    BTW you’re beyond hilarious, very entertaining!

  21. Pingback: I Want YOU So Bad! |

Leave a Reply

