Life as a Busy Bee (GF eggplant parm recipe)

Hey ya’ll! Dang, I am posting late today. I was a pretty busy bee today. I’m surprised I’m still awake and functioning.

So something exciting may be happening to me in a couple of months. I don’t want to jinx it by talking about it, but I’m so FREAKING excited that I must spread the news. There is this amazing organization out there, Taglit Birthright Israel, and they offer free trips to Israel for Jews or half-Jews around the ages of 18-22. It’s the chance of a lifetime, and I haven’t been picked yet. What is up with that Taglit? I’m like the best candidate ever. Seriously, I used to skip Hebrew school to go to starbucks with my friends instead and I never survived to conformation (10th grade). I did have a life or I just thought so when I was 13. Hey, technically I was an adult in the Jewish world, so I do what I want.


What can I say? When Jews hear the word free, we go running. I hope this doesn’t offend anyone. I just love Jewish stereotypes, they are pretty funny and mostly true. Anyways, I got an email from the birthright people to sign up for an interview for the trip (Yeah I know this is ridic, but so worth it). I am thinking this means that I have an increased chance of going because the last few times I registered I never made it to the interview part. I’m crossing my fingers because I so want to spend 10 days in Israel white water rafting, floating in the dead sea, and having escapades with sexy Israeli men. I mean DUH. Why would I not check out the locals? They are tall, dark, and handsome. Where do I sign up?

In more productive news, I literally have studied for my food systems exam for 6 hours. The material is so dry. No really, it drys out my contacts. Wow, not funny, but I pretend I am. Basically I have to memorize a bunch of facts and laws that I will need in my future as an RD, so it’s worth it, but it is so boring. Can we please go back to just making fudge and caramels, instead of actually learning something useful? (Yes, we cooked candy in lab, not nutritious, but it was to learn the “science” behind crystalline and non-crystalline candies) They can say whatever they want, I just like getting to sample it all. I have this problem. When I read a textbook for a long period of time, I start to get loopy. Uh oh the crazy is out.
I know, I’m so attractive. And I wonder why I’m single? Reading was driving me crazy, so I decided to do what I love the most. MAKE LISTS. Has anyone ever been on the listography website? You seriously can just have dashboard like page with a million lists that you make. I know I’m weird. I have become this OCD like person that must have everything written down. This led me to clean my entire apartment, which I needed to do since my friends were coming in today. Friends to the rescue. We went shopping. Being the frugal Jew that I am, I was like no spending money. Those deals. They get me everytime. I got a super cute dress from BCBG that was on sale for $29 and a skirt from express on sale for $10. I am quite the barganista. I’m a girly girl, and my friends always tease me because you will never catch me in a pair of shorts and a t-shirt. I like to look good. You never know who you could run into.
I have forgotten about the eats. This is mainly a healthy foods blog. This morning I had a dank breakfast. I decided to switch things up and make CCK’s Strawberry shortcake pancakes. While mine didn’t come out as beautiful as hers (I need to work on that), they tasted amazing. Of course I made them gluten free by using Bob Red Mills Gluten Free Flour. It was like strawberry shortcake exploded in my mouth. I paired it with three slices of Jennie-O’s turkey bacon. I love me some turkey bacon.
For lunch I decided to get a little fancy. Okay not really fancy, but hey for a college student I have some pretty great cooking skills. I was really craving something with cheese. I decided to bust out my eggplant and make some classic eggplant parmesan, but gluten-free style.

Gluten Free Eggplant Parmesan:
1/3 c. Gluten Free Bread Crumbs (I used Glutino)
1/3 c. Gluten Free All Purpose Flour (Bob Red Mills)
1/4 c. Egg Whites
1 Eggplant
1/2 c. diced tomatoes in sauce
1/3 c. shredded white cheese

1. Set up three containers with the flour in one, the crumbs in one, and the egg whites in another.
2. Slice eggplant into 1/2 in. thick slices
3. Dip slices first into the flour container, then into egg whites, and finally into the crumbs getting the slices covered well
4. Place onto a baking sheet and stick into the oven at 400 F for 20 minutes
5. When 5 minutes are left, pull out pan and pour on tomatoes and cheese, then let bake for remaining time
*I am not a big fan of tomato sauce, which is traditionally in the dish, so I used diced tomatoes and a small amount. You can replace the diced ones for as much sauce as you want

Oh dinner. Sometimes I am so exhausted that I have no effort for you. My friends ate at Johnny Rockets for dinner while we were out shopping, but since I’m gluten-free I couldn’t really eat anything there, so I just had a diet coke. OMG. I haven’t had soda in a while and it was like drinking the nectar of the gods. Okay I’m exagerrating, but only a little. I try to stay away from soda. By the time I got home, I didn’t really want to make anything, so I just popped a piece of salmon into the oven for 20 minutes and heated up some grilled asparagus I had made a day ago. I really wanted a tzatzkiki sauce to go with it, but it was sloth time for me, so it was a no go.
Yes I am that nerdy. Studying while I eat. I have no time to spare. So much info to cram in my brain. On a much brighter note, my friends want to buy artwork from me! Also my mom wants me to make more artwork to sell. Really I have no time for this, but I need money and doing art is such a good way to relax. Even if you are not really good at it, sometimes I just think its fun to doodle around. This is what made them want some:
It’s time for me to bounce. More like drag myself back to the books. I’m actually pretty impressed with myself because I have never had this much motivation in my life. I’m just really focused on getting a 4.0 because I have my eye on this dietetics internship in San Fran that I have to land when I graduate. Hope ya’ll have a fab saturday night!

Do ya’ll have any hobbies/talents that you use as a source of income?
Is there any talent that you wish you had?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Life as a Busy Bee (GF eggplant parm recipe)

  1. kaliesthoughts

    I hope you get picked!

  2. What a great recipe! I LOVE eggplants and I love cheese..perfect!!

  3. I’ve always wanted to make eggplant parmesan! Is it difficult to cut eggplant? I’ve never worked with it before & it seems it would be.

  4. Alexandra

    Dude that pic of you looks so similar to what I do everyday haha!! Holla for the single ladies!
    That elephant is freaking AWESOME! Love it so much :) And this recipe is a winner, I gotta get some eggplant pronto ;)
    Have a great weekend!

  5. jenandberries

    Thank you for commenting on my blog and glad you did because it lead me to yours woop! Woow love your elephant I’d so buy him from you too. People often say ‘you could sell your art’ to me but I just have never really thought about it seriously ;p. I love making lists too!!! And your food all looks fab, especially the lunch, I need to do this! Can’t wait to read more! Oh and cute dress btw. I never wonder why I’m single as i walk around wearing sweaty gym clothes half the time haha

  6. Haha, you’re hilarious :)
    That Birthright thing sounds awesome. I have a few friends who have done it and they say that it is a blast! Best of luck getting picked

  7. How cool, I hope you get picked dear! Seriously, I cannot remember the last time I had chicken or eggplant parm.. this looks great though! Bookmarked :)

  8. Rachel

    ahhh that elephant is amazinggg!!!! i love elephants so much. i have pink ones with paisley on them at my room at home :) i have a ton of friends who’ve been on birthright and absolutely loved it- so i really hope you get to go! i’d love to go to israel someday, but i know there’s really no way i’d be able to go now (my parents would say it’s too dangerous wahhh). the dress you got is adorable too :)

Leave a Reply

